09
Aug
07

What Happened to the coming Ice Age?

I get so sick of being told what to think. I am not a news junkie by any means, but not a day goes by that I am not confronted with the popular notion of “Global Warming.” I know I am swimming upstream here, but I seriously doubt that we have a global warming problem, but I’m not a scientist, so I will remain open on the question, unlike our Al Gore. (Just for the record, in case you didn’t know, he’s not a scientist either, even if he did create the internet).

So why am I writing about this? Well, the other day my son (he’s 11) asked me about global warming. Naturally, he is a little concerned for his future and the state the planet will be in when he grows up. I just laughed. Him asking me about it, suddenly reminded me of when I was a boy, exactly his age, being concerned for the future of the planet when I grew up. Only, as I was remembering (granted it was thirty years ago), I had visions of the North American continent buried in snow and ice. You see, when I was 10, everyone was concerned that we were entering another ice age. They quoted all kinds of scientists who sounded very convincing, just like today. So, today, I looked it up.

Here is a link to a reprint of a Time magazine article, “Another Ice Age” published June 24, 1974

Here is a link to a .pdf of the same article.

Here is an editorial by a guy named Andrew Kenny, writing for the Sunday Mail in 2002. He says this at one point:

“As recently as January 1994, the supreme authority on matters environmental, Time magazine, wrote:
‘The ice age cometh? Last week’s big chill was a reminder that the Earth’s climate can change at any time … The last (ice age) ended 10,000 years ago; the next one— for there will be a next on—could start tens of thousands of years from now. Or tens of years. Or it may have already started.”

So, I am satisfied that my memory is correct.

So what did I tell my son? I just laughed and said, “You know when I was your age they were afraid we were going into a new ice age. Don’t worry about it. The people who are promoting the global warming scare, want to scare you into giving up some of your freedom. Just be careful what you listen to, and wait til you understand their agenda before you buy into something.” So now we get a good laugh when we hear someone talking about global warming.

On the other hand, we could discover new evidence of global warming anytime, so I’ll keep an open mind. In fact, just the other day, I saw an alarming trend that almost made me a believer. The photo below is the most convincing evidence that the climate is changing.

proofofglobalwarming

4 Responses to “What Happened to the coming Ice Age?”


  1. 1 Mike M.
    August 9, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Actually it could start about, oh, 2020 or so. Sunspot cycle 25 is predicted to be the weakest we’ve seen in ages, practically non-existent. If the historical record is anything to go by we’ll be begging for the return of global warming.

  2. 2 Casey
    August 12, 2007 at 3:33 am

    well it sure feels like the world is getting hotter. Maybe it’s because I’m pregnant. 😉

  3. 3 JR
    October 27, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Bravo! Bravo!

    Someone with some common sense. Now then, if we could only get that in Washington D. C. 😦

  4. May 17, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like
    yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

