15
Mar
07

Satisfying Story

Permanent Things had one of my favorite quotes from Tolkien today.

I remember the first time I read The Lord of the Rings. In The Return of the King, after the battle of Pelinor fields, Faramir and Eowyn meet during their convalescence. It struck me as a pleasing thought that they should meet, but even more pleasant was the moment, when they are walking in the garden and Faramir says:

“I love you. I used to pity your sorrow. But now, were you sorrowless, without fear or any lack, still I would love you.”

It’s such a satisfying thought, that they should find one another. Each has fallen victim to darkness that had overtaken their lands and each had suffered such great loss. Perhaps, I am a bit of a romantic, but it is such an encouraging thought that they should be there to comfort one another, but even more, that such comfort would grow to true and deep love.

0 Responses to “Satisfying Story”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

