13
Feb
07

Stand on . . .

When we stand before God do we stand on our own faith? I hope not, because, if you’re like me there are days when you just don’t have the answers and there is doubt. And I just can’t make my belief cover my short comings. So when I stand before God if I stand at all it will be on His grace . . .

Shifting Sand by Caedmon’s Call

    Sometimes I believe all the lies
    So I can do the things I should despise
    And every day I am swayed
    By whatever is on my mind

      I hear it all depends on my faith
      So I’m feeling precarious
      The only problem I have with these mysteries
      Is they’re so mysterious

        And like a consumer I’ve been thinking
        If I could just get a bit more
        More than my 15 minutes of faith,
        Then I’d be secure

          My faith is like shifting sand
          Changed by every wave
          My faith is like shifting sand
          So I stand on grace

            I’ve begged you for some proof
            For my Thomas eyes to see
            A slithering staff, a leperous hand
            And lions resting lazily

              A glimpse of your back-side glory
              And this soaked altar going ablaze
              But you know I’ve seen so much
              I explained it away

                Waters rose as my doubts reigned
                My sand-castle faith, it slipped away
                Found myself standing on your grace
                It’d been there all the time

                  Stand on grace

                1. Advertisements

                  1 Response to “Stand on . . .”


                  1. 1 Casey
                    February 16, 2007 at 6:45 pm

                    This is one of my favorite Caedmon’s Call songs. It took me a while before I got it though.

                    It is also fun to sing “I stand on grapes.” just to change it up. 😛


                  Leave a Reply

